University of Rochester

Faculty [Geography] [Periods] [Themes] | Administrative Staff | Graduate Students | Recent Ph.D. Recipients

African History
Inikori, Joseph E.Professorinik@mail.rochester.edu585.275.9020Atlantic World economic history. Dr. Inikori is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Global History.
Mandala, Elias C.Professorelias.c.mandala@rochester.edu585.275.2058Southern Africa since the 19th century, with a focus on agriculture, food, gender, labor migration, and peasantry. Currently writing a social history of Dr. David Livingstone’s porters and servants.
Sierra, Pablo M.Assistant Professorpablo.sierra@rochester.edu585.275.8354African Diaspora in Latin America, Colonial Latin America, Afro-Indigenous Interactions, Urban Slavery
American/US History
Beaumont, Daniel Associate Professordaniel.beaumont@rochester.edu585.275.5224Contemporary American culture, Arabic literature
Borus, Daniel H.Professordaniel.borus@rochester.edu585.275.9356U.S. cultural and intellectual history
Brown, Theodore M.Professortheodore_brown@urmc.rochester.edu585.275.2051Intellectual, institutional, and political history of medicine
Gamm, Gerald Associate Professorgerald.gamm@rochester.edu585.275.8573Political Science, American History
Hudson, Larry E.Associate Professorlarry.hudson@rochester.edu585.275.4557African-American history; Comparative Slavery; Civil War and Reconstruction; New South; Theory and Methods of Oral history
Inikori, Joseph E.Professorinik@mail.rochester.edu585.275.9020Atlantic World economic history. Dr. Inikori is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Global History.
Jarvis, Michael J.Associate Professormichael.jarvis@rochester.edu585.275.4558Early American social and economic history; Atlantic World networks; Bermuda and the Caribbean; Maritime labor and culture
Rubin, Joan S.Professorjoan.rubin@rochester.edu585.275.9347Nineteenth- and twentieth-century American cultural and intellectual history; the history of the book
Slaughter, Thomas P.Professorthomas.slaughter@rochester.edu585.273.2799Europe and the Americas, c.1500-1900; Early America; American Revolution; Abolition; Humans and Nature; and Families.
Westbrook, Robert B.Professorrobert.westbrook@rochester.edu585.275.9349Modern American history
Young, Mary Professor Emeritusyngm@mail.rochester.edu585.275.2054American history in the early national and Jacksonian periods; American Indians
Atlantic World
Inikori, Joseph E.Professorinik@mail.rochester.edu585.275.9020Atlantic World economic history. Dr. Inikori is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Global History.
Jarvis, Michael J.Associate Professormichael.jarvis@rochester.edu585.275.4558Early American social and economic history; Atlantic World networks; Bermuda and the Caribbean; Maritime labor and culture
Sierra, Pablo M.Assistant Professorpablo.sierra@rochester.edu585.275.8354African Diaspora in Latin America, Colonial Latin America, Afro-Indigenous Interactions, Urban Slavery
Europe
Devaney, Thomas C.Assistant Professorthomas.devaney@rochester.edu585.276.6861Late medieval and early modern Europe; urban history; interfaith relations.
Inikori, Joseph E.Professorinik@mail.rochester.edu585.275.9020Atlantic World economic history. Dr. Inikori is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Global History.
Kaeuper, Richard W.Professorrichard.kaeuper@rochester.edu585.275.7878Medieval Britain and continental Europe
Lenoe, Matthew E.Associate Professormatthew.lenoe@rochester.edu585.275.9355Russian and Soviet history: Stalinist culture and politics, history of mass media, Soviet soldiers in World War II, Russia in East Asia, Leninism in world history
Outram, Dorinda Professordorinda.outram@rochester.edu585.275.4097History of the Enlightenment
Pedersen, Jean Associate Professorjpedersen@esm.rochester.edu585.275.3616Modern European history; French history; feminist theory, women's history, and gender studies; philosophy of science, sociology of knowledge, and history of academic disciplines.
Smoller, Laura Professorlaura.smoller@rochester.edu585.275.7721Medieval and Renaissance Europe; Medieval Christianity; Early Science and Medicine; History of Astrology and Prophecy
Weaver, Stewart A.Professorstewart.weaver@rochester.edu585.275.9348Modern British History; Himalayan History; Environmental History
East Asian History
Ho, Dahpon Assistant Professordho2@mail.rochester.edu585.275.7869East Asian history.
Zhang, Elya Assistant Professorelya.zhang@gmail.com585.275.9358Asian History
India/South Asia
Weaver, Stewart A.Professorstewart.weaver@rochester.edu585.275.9348Modern British History; Himalayan History; Environmental History
Latin America
Sierra, Pablo M.Assistant Professorpablo.sierra@rochester.edu585.275.8354African Diaspora in Latin America, Colonial Latin America, Afro-Indigenous Interactions, Urban Slavery