Philosophy Department

About Us

The Department of Philosophy offers programs leading to the BA, MA, and PhD degrees.

The philosophers who are members of the Department of Philosophy have a variety of specialties in philosophy and represent diverse philosophical perspectives. Philosophical issues addressed in undergraduate courses include both traditional topics from areas such as epistemology, ethics, metaphysics, political philosophy, and the philosophy of science, and also the most recent contemporary concerns. The techniques brought to bear on these issues are analytical, formal, and historical. 

The undergraduate program stresses Western philosophy, ancient and modern, and gives particular emphasis to recent and contemporary Anglo-American philosophy. The department’s course offerings provide an excellent foundation for graduate work in law and cognitive science, as well as in philosophy itself. A major in philosophy is also a valuable asset when combined with a major in political science, economics, or natural sciences such as biology, chemistry, geology, physics, and psychology.

The graduate program enables students to earn the degrees of Doctor of Philosophy and Master of Arts. The program emphasizes ethics, epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of science, history of philosophy, and logic. The program leading to the doctorate emphasizes training for scholarly research and teaching. The department cooperates with the Departments of Computer Science, Brain and Cognitive Sciences, and Linguistics in a graduate program in cognitive science. A detailed description of these programs may be obtained upon request from the department.

The Department office is in 532 Lattimore Hall on the River Campus of the University of Rochester (see maps). On the same floor are Faculty and TA offices and the Department's Lewis White Beck Memorial Library containing over 10,000 books and journals.

Contact the Philosophy Department

Department of Philosophy
University of Rochester
Box 270078
Rochester, NY 14627-0078
(585) 275-4105
(585) 273-2964

Our office is located on the fifth floor of Lattimore Hall. Postal mail addresses of individuals in the department consist of their names followed by the mail address of the department above. Email addresses for individuals are available on the people page. You may also find the following contact information useful.

Department Office Contacts

Department Chair:
Randall Curren
532 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-8112
Administrative Assistant:
Amy Bray
532 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-4105
Web Publisher:
Brad Weslake
520 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 276-3821

Graduate Program Contacts

Graduate Admission Materials:

For graduate admissions forms, see the Graduate Application page.

Graduate Program Director:
Earl Conee
528 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-8115
Graduate Admissions Committee Chair:
Alison Peterman
521 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-8146
Graduate Placement Officer:
Alison Peterman
521 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-8146

Undergraduate Program Contacts

Undergraduate Advisor:
William J. FitzPatrick
525 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 275-8107
Philosophy Council Advisor: Council Page ยป
Brad Weslake
520 Lattimore Hall
Phone: (585) 276-3821