« May 2015 »
26 27 28 29 30 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6

Date Range


Eastman Jazz Ensemble and New Jazz Ensemble

  • Kilbourn Hall
  • Thursday, October 24, 2013
  • 8:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Event Description

New Jazz Ensemble
Dave Rivello, director
Eastman Jazz Ensemble
Bill Dobbins, director
Bill Holman, guest composer/director

Program to be selected from the following:


Bary Me Not                                                                          Bill Holman


                                Lance Hoffman, baritone sax



Raincheck                                                                                    Billy Strayhorn

                                                                                          arr. Bill Holman


                                Clayton Farris, piano

                                Matthew Sieber-Ford, tenor sax

                                Christian Crawford, trumpet



Sunshinola                                                                                      Bill Holman


                                Nick Edwards, bass

                                Nick Jalensky, trombone

                                Jim Flowers, alto sax



Press One                                                                                       Bill Holman


                                Nick Jalensky, trombone

                                Christian Crawford, trumpet

                                Matthew Sieber-Ford, tenor sax



If You Could See Me Now                                                      Tadd Dameron

                                                                                  arr. by Bill Holman


                                Matt Blom, trumpet



Woodrow                                                                                     Bill Holman


                                Shoghi Hayes, trumpet

                                Clayton Farris, piano

                                Matthew Sieber-Ford, tenor sax








Program to be selected from the following:


The Bandicoot Affair                                                            Bill Holman


                                Alexa Tarantino, alto saxophone

                                Jimmy Robbins, trombone



Be-Bop Love Song                                                                 Bill Holman


                                Ben Britton, tenor saxophone

                                Brendan Lanighan, trombone

                                Emiliano Lasansky, bass



Zamboni                                                                                 Bill Holman


                                Brandon Choi, trumpet

                                Dave Detweiler, tenor saxophone



Echoes of Aranjuez                                                               Bill Holman

(based on Joaquín Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez)



                                Marc Abrate, baritone saxophone

                                Jimmy Robbins, trombone


                                Alexa Tarantino, alto saxophone

                                   Jacob Dupre, piano

                                Dave Detweiler, tenor saxophone

                                Eric Metzgar, drums



                                    Gomeh Barak, trumpet

                                    Eric Metzgar, drums



This event is free and open to the public.

General Information for ESM Concerts

General Information for ESM Concerts:
All concerts are free unless otherwise noted. Ticket information is available here. All concerts listed are open to the public. For up-to-date recorded and ticket information, patrons should call our Music Line at 274-1100, 9am - 4pm, M-F. Please note that all concerts are subject to change.

Got updates? Notice Omissions? Contact calendar@esm.rochester.edu.