News & Events

Seminars

News & Events

Seminars are held in Hutchison Hall, on the River Campus. (Campus map) Contact the Department of Biology at 273-1139 at least three days in advance to request any special accommodations or if you would like to meet with an outside speaker. Refreshments provided.

To be added to our mailing list, please email brenna.rybak@rochester.edu.

Tuesday, August 23, 2016
9:00 a.m.

Bio Writing Retreat -- Postponed Until Further Notice

New date to be announced

Friday, September 9, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Dr. Benjamin Parker, University of Rochester

"Symbiont-mediated resistance in pea aphids: interactions with the immune system and variation in natural populations"

Hutchison 316

Saturday, September 10, 2016
2:00 p.m.

Dr. Patricia White, University of Rochester Medical Center

"How does noise damage hearing?"

Pittsford Barnes and Noble, Upstairs Common Room

Rochester Science Café Series

Monday, September 12, 2016
12:00 p.m.

Dr. J.J. Emerson, University of California, Irvine

"Beneath the tip of the iceberg: using high quality genomes to uncover the evolutionary consequences hidden genetic variation in Drosophila"

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Friday, September 16, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Dr. Kazuo Yamazaki, University of Rochester - Department of Mathematics

Global well-posedness and asymptotic behavior of solutions to a reaction-convection-diffusion cholera epidemic model

Hutchison 316

Monday, September 19, 2016
12:00 p.m.

Dr. Terry Orr-Weaver, MIT

"Developmental regulation of DNA replication to control cell size"

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Friday, September 23, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Dr. Xu Wang, Cornell University

“Divergent patterns of marsupial-eutherian genomic imprinting and mammalian placenta evolution”

Hutchison 316

Tuesday, September 27, 2016
7:00 p.m.

Dr. Cynthia Ebinger, University of Rochester

"Peering into Earth using Earthquakes and Volcanoes"

Pittsford Barnes and Noble, Upstairs Common Room

Rochester Science Café Series

Friday, September 30, 2016
12:00 p.m.

Dr. Thomas Hill, University of Kansas

"Hybrid dysgenesis in Drosophila simulans associated with a rapid global invasion of the P element"

Hutchison 316

Monday, October 3, 2016
12:00 p.m.

Dr. Patrick Oakes, University of Rochester

TBA

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Friday, October 7, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Dr. Ryan Bickel, University of Rochester

 TBA

Hutchison 316

Saturday, October 8, 2016
2:00 p.m.

Dr. Dave Miller, Warner School of Education and Jason McMurray, Eastridge High School

"Using Technology to Boost Inquiry in the Science Classroom"

Pittsford Barnes and Noble, Upstairs Common Room

Rochester Science Café Series

Friday, October 14, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Dr. Josephine Reinhardt, SUNY Geneseo

“Impacts of selfish genes on genome evolution in the stalk-eyed flies”

Hutchison 316

Friday, October 21, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Dr. Marek Borowiec, University of Rochester

"Big-data phylogenetics and the evolutionary history of army ants"

Hutchison 316

Tuesday, October 25, 2016
7:00 p.m.

Dr. John Frelinger, University of Rochester Medical Center

"Cancer Immunotherapy: Basic science to clinical success"

Pittsford Barnes and Noble, Upstairs Common Room

Rochester Science Café Series

Friday, October 28, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Dr. Rebecca Rundell, SUNY-ESF, Department of Environmental and Forest Biology

Hutchison 316

Monday, October 31, 2016
12:00 p.m.

Dr. Elizabeth Grayhack, URMC - Department of Biochemistry

"Adjacent codons act in concert to modulate translation"

Lander Auditorium - Hutch 140

Friday, November 4, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Dr. Jacob Russell, Drexel University

Hutchison 316

Monday, November 7, 2016
12:00 p.m.

Dr. Erica Larschan, Brown University

“X-marks the spot: targeting Drosophila dosage compensation to the male X-chromosome”

Lander Auditorium - Hutchison 140

Friday, November 11, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Dr. Maren Vitousek, Cornell University

Hutchison 316

Saturday, November 12, 2016
2:00 p.m.

Dr. Marilyn Ling, University of Rochester Medical Center

"Radiation Oncology - The Science of Breast Cancer Care"

Pittsford Barnes and Noble, Upstairs Common Room

Rochester Science Café Series

Friday, November 18, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Dr. Sandra Rehan, University of New Hampshire

Hutchison 316

Tuesday, November 22, 2016
7:00 p.m.

Dr. Bradford Berk, University of Rochester Medical Center

"Neurorestoration: Devices, Drugs, and Stem Cells"

Pittsford Barnes and Noble, Upstairs Common Room

Rochester Science Café Series

Friday, December 2, 2016
3:00 p.m.

Dr. Michael Sheehan, Cornell University

Hutchison 316

Tuesday, January 24, 2017
7:00 p.m.

Dr. Danielle Benoit, University of Rochester

"Nanomaterials for drug and cell delivery to promote tissue regeneration"

Pittsford Barnes and Noble, Upstairs Common Room

Rochester Science Café Series