Decoding the Digital Poster

Decoding the Digital

Provisional Schedule

All events take place in the Hawkins-Carlson Room, Rush Rhees Library

Download the Schedule [pdf]


Thursday, September 12

3:30–4:45 Thomas Gewecke, Chief Digital Officer and Executive Vice President, Strategy and Business Development, Warner Bros. Entertainment “Embracing Disruption”
5:00–6:30 Mckenzie Wark, Professor, Culture and Media, and Professor, Liberal Studies, The New School, "The Silver Age of Social Media"

Friday, September 13

9:00–10:30 Digital Identity:
  Lisa Nakamura, Professor of American Culture and Screen Arts & Cultures, University of Michigan, “Blowing up the Digital Humanities: A Provocation”
  Sarah Higley, Professor of English, University of Rochester, “Finding the Experiment in Machinima”
  Sara Perry, Lecturer, Cultural Heritage Management, University of York, “The Online Professional: Gendered Engagements with Digital Media in the Workplace”
10:45–12:15 Digital Humanities at the University of Rochester:
A Roundtable Discussion
  Joel Burges, Assistant Professor of English
  Nora Dimmock, Director, Digital Humanities Center, Digital Media Studies Librarian, Rush Rhees Library
  Morris Eaves, Professor of English and Richard L. Turner Professor of the Humanities
  Rachel Lee, Recent PhD in English
  Joan Saab, Associate Professor and Chair, Art and Art History
1:45–3:15 Anne Balsamo, Professor and Dean, School of Media Studies, The New School, “Designing Culture”
CANCELLED—Professor Balsamo's flight was cancelled due to weather.
3:30–4:45 Digital Arts, Digital Worlds:
  Aubrey Anable, Assistant Professor, Cinema Studies Institute, University of Toronto, “Affect, Archives, and Virtual Worlds”
  Cary Peppermint, Assistant Professor of Art, University of Rochester, "Mobile Media Happenings and the Performance of Everyday Wilderness"
5:00–6:30 Music and Digital Media:
  Bob Ludwig, President and Chief Engineer, Gateway Mastering Studios
  Don Puluse, President, AES Education Foundation
  Jeff Beal, Composer and Performer
6:45–8:00 Reception, Ronald Rettner Hall for Media Arts and Innovation,
1st-floor atrium

Saturday, September 14

9:00–10:30 Digital Climates, Digital Divides:
  Robert Markley, W.D. and Sara E. Trowbridge Professor of English, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, “Mapping the Great Lakes: Computational Analysis and Climate History, 1680-1850”
  Lu Wei, Professor and Assistant Dean, College of Media & International Culture, Zhejiang University, “Number Matters: The Multimodality of Internet Use as an Indicator of the Digital Inequalities”
10:45–12:15 Communications, Computers, and Research Media:
  Kathleen Fitzpatrick, Modern Language Association Director of Scholarly Communication, “Digital Media Studies and the Future of Scholarly Authorship”
  Worthy Martin, Co-Director, Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities, University of Virginia, “IATH: Nexus for Scholarly Collaboration”
CANCELLED—Worthy Martin's flight was cancelled due to weather.
  Daniel Pitti, Co-Director, Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities, University of Virginia, “The Digital Humanities Spectrum”
1:45–3:15 Digital Innovation:
Entertainment, Social Media, and the Real World
  Todd Havens, Senior Account Director, TVGIa marketing agency
  Henry Kautz, Professor and Chair, Department of Computer Science, University of Rochester
3:30–4:45 Preserving and Creating Cultural Heritage:
  Paolo Cherchi Usai, Senior Curator Motion Pictures, George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film, “The Digital Future of Analog Film Archives”
  Matthew Tyler-Jones, PhD Researcher – Cultural Heritage and the Digital Economy, University of Southampton, “The Interpretation Game”
5:00–6:30 Music, Meaning, and Memory:
  David Temperley, Associate Professor of Music Theory, Eastman School of Music, “Making Sense Out of Digital Audio”
  Thomas Mowrey, Grammy Award-Winning Music Producer and Audio/Video Pioneer, “From Rochester Into The Golden Age of Classical Music Recording”
  Moderator: Mark Bocko, Distinguished Professor and Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering