Wilson Commons Student Activities

Fall Leadership Training (Fall Semester)


Forge A Path: Leave A Trail

Monday, September 1st, 2014          

Submit your training Feedback Here!

REGISTRATION CLOSED! Log in to Campus Club Connection 

Student Organization Leaders that have primary advisors from Fraternity and Sorority Affairs, the Interfaith Chapel, the Rochester Center for Community Leadership, and Wilson Commons Student Activities are invited to the Fall Leadership Training.  The training's mission is to provide student leaders a comprehensive, collaborative learning experience that they will benefit from and in turn strengthen their organization.  The training is mandatory for the business manager and one other executive board member, however the whole executive board is invited to participate.  It is it known that the more members that are informed the better the organization can operate.  Registration is open from Aug. 4th and closes at 11:59pm Aug. 25th.  If you have any questions about your participation contact your primary advisor, if you are unsure who that is you may reference this organization/advisor directory.

Conference Schedule: 

8:00 am--8:45am Registrations & Breakfast in Goergen Atrium

9:00am--9:30am Opening Remarks in Hubbell Auditorium

9:35am--10:45am Breakout Session I 

11:00am--12:15pm Breakout Session II

12:30pm--1:30pm Lunch & Primary Advisor Conversations

1:30pm--2:30pm Networking & Dessert (Hosted by SA president) 

Breakout Session Learning Outcomes-

Campus Programmer

Participants in this session will:

  1. Learn the ins & outs of planning a successful program including event registration and assessment process
  2. Understand University guidelines of risk management, sanitary regulations and Insurance requirements
  3. Review and manage campus resources

Internal Relations

Participants in this session will:

  1. Understand best practices to establish a foundation for a healthy organization
  2. Analyze opportunities for improving internal dynamics
  3. Learn effective recruitment and motivation tools for members and officers
  4. Identify University Resources and other tools that can help a student organization be more successful

External Relations

Participants in this session will:

  1. Learn the how-to and benefits of creative collaborations and co-sponsorships
  2. Discover the ins and outs of donations and fundraisers
  3. Assess the importance of volunteerism and off-campus relationships

Business Manager

Participants in this session will:

  1. Learn the processes and procedures for proper financial management including new online tools
  2. Understand available resources including supplemental/conference requests, student accountant contact info and inventory management
  3. Gain strategies for being a successful executive board member by working with advisors and communicating effectively

Leadership Appreciation Dinner (Spring Semseter)

The Leadership Appreciation Dinner honors and recognizes student leaders and student organizations that have enriched the University of Rochester’s community through their varied programs, publications, activities, and community service. This year’s Leadership Appreciation Dinner will be held on Thursday, January 15th, 2015 in the May Room.  This event is invitation only and for organizations who are advised by Rochester Center for Community Leadership, Wilson Commons Student Activities, and Hall Councils from Residential Life. 

The Alice DeSimone Award is given each year in memory of Alice DeSimone, who served for seventeen years as an Administrative Assistant in the Office of the Dean of Students. This award is presented to students whose contributions to co-curricular life at the University have strengthened community spirit and involvement. Nominees need not be in high profile or formal positions of leadership to be considered. Instead, this award recognizes dedication, enthusiasm, collaboration, and positive role modeling as leadership traits that help promote and maintain a strong quality of life for all. This award can and will be given to more than one student of the junior, senior, or 5th year program (KEY or Take 5).

2014 Winners:

  • Kevin Allanpolar bears
  • Amber-Danielle Baldie
  • Daniel Gorman
  • Chelsea Hans
  • Rebekah Lipsky
  • Alexandra Poindexter
  • Christina Smiros


The Ana Hubbard Award was established in 2009 by friends and family in memory of Ana Hubbard, class of 1999. Wilson Commons Student Activities presents the Ana Hubbard Award in recognition of a student whose participation in a student organization has improved their life, provided valuable skills and contributed to the vitality of their student organization and campus community. This award will be given to a member of the junior, senior, or 5th year program (Take 5 or KEY).

2014 Winner: Shalin Nohria


Student Organization Photo Contest Winner: Strong Jugglers




Phone: (585) 275-9390
Fax: (585) 273-5306
Email: wcsa@rochester.edu

Mailing Address:
201 Wilson Commons
University of Rochester
PO Box 270281
Rochester, NY 14627


Facebook Twitter YouTube