Meloria • Ever Better
Search Tools Main Menu


May 04, 2016


George VanderZwaag, the University’s executive director of athletics, was honored with a distinguished alumnus award from the University of Massachusetts–Amherst. The award is named after his father, Harold VanderZwaag, who started the sport management program at UMass.

Pamela Heiple has been named Advanced Practice Provider of the Year at Highland Hospital. The new award recognizes outstanding service of a Highland nurse practitioner or physician assistant. Heiple has served Highland since 1986 as psychiatric nurse practitioner and coordinator of the psychiatric consultation liaison service.

David Holub, assistant professor of family medicine, is the recipient of Highland Hospital’s Distinguished Physician Award.  Holub was nominated for the award by administrators, colleagues, and patients for healthcare excellence.

NullSpace VR—represented by Morgan Sinko ’16, Lucian Copeland ’15, ’16 (KEY), and Jordan Brooks ’15—won second place in the 2016 Rochester Venture Challenge. The team earned $5,000 cash and $2,500 rent credit for space at High Tech Rochester’s Lennox Tech Enterprise Center. Twenty-nine companies in the greater Rochester region entered this year’s competition.

Annette (Annie) Medina-Walpole will be honored with the 2016 Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Public Service Award by the American Geriatric Society at its annual scientific meeting in May. Medina-Walpole is a professor of medicine and acting chief in the Division of Geriatrics and Aging.

Previous story    Next story