University of Rochester

Office of the Provost










Quick Links

Academic Calendar

University Faculty Handbook

University Fact Book

Achievement and Service Awards

Eastman Medal 

The Eastman Medal recognizes individuals whose achievements and service embody the University's highest ideals. The Medal is named for George Eastman, the University's major benefactor and one of the nation's great champions of higher education. The Provost and President select one or more recipients of this award annually from nominations put forward by the University community.

To see past recipients click here.  Questions about the Eastman Medal should be directed to Jason Adsit.

Frederick Douglass Medal

The Frederick Douglass Medal is awarded by the University and its Frederick Douglass Institute for African and African-American Studies to distinguished individuals whose scholarship and civic engagement honor the Douglass legacy.

To see past recipients click here