Tools Search Main Menu
Office of the Provost

Frederick Douglass Medal

Frederick Douglass Medal

The Frederick Douglass Medal is awarded by the University of Rochester and its Frederick Douglass Institute for African and African-American Studies to acknowledge both scholarship and civic engagement that honor the Douglass' legacy.


Constance Mitchell
Social, civic, political, and industrial activist; first woman and first African-American to serve on the Monroe County Legislature


Frederick Jefferson
University Intercessor and Professor Emeritus at the Warner School; pioneer and champion of diversity and inclusivity at the University


Yolanda Moses
Scholar on the origins of social inequality; former president of the City College of New York


Garth Fagan
Tony Award–winning choreographer


Deborah Gray White
Board of Governors Professor of History at Rutgers University; pioneering scholar in the field of African-American women's history

Fall 2008

David Kearns
Retired CEO of Xerox Corp. and former deputy secretary of the U.S. Department of Education under President George H.W. Bush
VIDEO: David Kearns

Walter Cooper
Retired research scientist at Eastman Kodak Co.; one of the founding members of the Rochester chapter of the National Urban League and Action for a Better Community; New York State regent emeritus
VIDEO: Walter Cooper

Spring 2008

Lani Guinier
Professor of law at Harvard University

Gerald Torres
Professor of law at the University of Texas at Austin