Skip to main content

Develop Leadership

Student Life Awards

2003 Recipients

Each spring the Rochester Center for Community Leadership recognizes undergraduate students and organizations that have made significant contributions to campus life. Nominated by faculty, staff, and peers, Student Life Award recipients represent diverse interests, talents, and accomplishments. Because of their leadership, engagement in on and off campus life, and positive influence over peers, our community is stronger now and in the future.

Individual Leadership Awards

Simeon Cheatham Award: Irene Lippa
Established in the 1970s by the Office of the Dean of Students to recognize outstanding University of Rochester students. This award is given to a student who has outstanding qualities in devotion to community service and to growth and development of children.

Percy Dutton Prize: Jason Smith
This prize was established in 1946 as a gift from Percy Dutton. This award is given to the male member of the graduating class who has excelled in "wholesome, unselfish and helpful influence" among his fellow students.

Andrew Fried Prize: Nathaniel Powell
Established by friends and family in 1961 in memory of Andrew Norman Fried, class of 1961. This prize is awarded to the man who, upon completion of his freshman year, has shown outstanding qualities of character, superior moral judgment, and interest in serving his fellow students.

Delno Sisson Prize: Siddharth Parameswaran
In 1957, this award was established by a gift from Delno Sisson, class of 1966. This prize is awarded annually to the freshman who has shown the most improvement not only in academic work, but also in adjusting to college life and the student body.

Eli & Mildred Sokol Prize: Jesse Bailey
This award was established in 1985 by a gift from Eli and Mildred Sokol, class of 1933. This prize is awarded to a sophomore who has emerged as a leader who can be expected to contribute significantly to the welfare of his or her fellow students in the next two years.

Seth H. & Harriet Terry Prize: Bryan Rotach
Established in 1928 as a gift from Seth H. Terry, class of 1883 in memory of his parents. This award is given to the male member of the senior class who, by his industry, character and honorable conduct, has done the most for the life and character of the undergraduate community.

Linda Muise Student Life Award: Jonathan Herbert
In honor of Linda Muise, who has served for more than twenty years as Assistant Dean for Residential Life, this award is presented to one graduating senior whose contributions to co-curricular life at the University have strengthened community spirit and involvement. Applicants need not be in high profile or formal positions of leadership to be considered. Instead, this award recognizes dedication, enthusiasm, collaboration, and positive role modeling as leadership traits that help promote and maintain a strong quality of life for all.

Ayman Amin-Salem Memorial: Prabhjot Dhadialla and Jefferey Yaeger
The fund was established by the family of Ayman, a student in the Class of 1987, who died in an automobile accident. The prize is to be awarded to that member of the senior class who best evidences the qualities of good character and good citizenship, such as decency, reliability, responsibility, and congeniality. Preference may be given to students who also have an interest in biology or the biological sciences, art, writing or athletics.

Irene Bush Steinbock Award: Emily Faber and Irene Lippa
The award was established by Irene Bush Steinbock “ in memory of the late Dean Annette Gardner Munro, whose kindness and graciousness was a great inspiration to me during my years of study at the University of Rochester.” This award is given to a senior in Arts and Sciences who has made the most noteworthy contribution to human relations.

Wendy Jill Fread Prize: Emily Gedbaw
The prize was established by Dr. And Mrs. Bernard Fread in memory of their daughter, Wendy, who was killed in an automobile accident prior to the time she would normally have completed her undergraduate work as a member of the Class of 1975. This prize is to be awarded to that student who has worked the hardest and been the most effective in aiding fellow students to do well as students and as members of the University community.

Rob Rouzer Award for Excellence in Student Government Leadership: Rachel Morrisey-Ott
Established in honor of his 28 years of service to the University of Rochester, the Rob Rouzer Award is conferred annually to a student affiliated with either of the three branches of the Students' Association Government who has shown immense integrity and perseverance in striving to improve student life and welfare.

Presidential Award for Community Service: Daniel Lioy
Established by the Dean of Students in 1990 to recognize University students who are committed to community service. Given to a senior for outstanding participation and leadership in service to the community beyond the campus, this award recognizes a student who has worked selflessly and effectively in addressing social causes.  Areas of focus include, but are not limited to, improving literacy, reducing hunger and hopelessness, providing legal or medical assistance to the needy, and serving as a mentor.

Alice DeSimone Student Life Awards: Donald Brandt, Matthew Davison, Emily Faber, Sara Finiki, James Foster, Elizabeth Giambra, Mike Guerra, Emily Hickey, Aarthi Iyer, Carrie Klayman, Matthew Lilienfeld, Paul Linczak, Tanisha Lisle, Bernadette Marino, David Reiner, Benjamin Schudel, Jonathan Tan, Kellena Wilson
Named in 1997 for Alice DeSimone, a member of the Office of the Dean of Students for 17 years, in recognition of her commitment and dedication to the University community and the guidance and support she provided to all students. This award is presented to students in recognition of their dedication, enthusiasm, collaboration, positive role-modeling, and contributions to co-curricular life at the University. Recipients of this award have been selected as examples for students to follow and particularly recognizes students whose contributions to student life may otherwise be overlooked.

Student Organization and Programming Award

Excellence in Programming Award: SALSA and CAB
Established in 1990 by the Dean of Students, this award is given to an outstanding program organized and presented by undergraduate students.