University of Rochester

Rochester Review
January–February 2013
Vol. 75, No. 3

pdf image
Story as a PDF


Review home

In Review

HIGHLIGHTS Cross Country Leads Strong Fall Showing Women’s and men’s cross country teams, men’s soccer, and field hockey earn NCAA bids.

Lauren Norton ’13 made her final season a memorable one for the women’s cross country team, winning the New York State Collegiate Track Conference individual championship, earning first team All–UAA and All-Region honors, and earning All-America honors at the NCAA Division III national championship meet in Terre Haute, Ind.

Norton is the first women’s cross country All-American since 1988 and the latest Rochester woman to win the New York State individual crown. Josefa Benzoni ’88 pulled off the same double in 1988. Norton was third at the UAA championships and second at the NCAA Atlantic regional, both hosted by Rochester.

As a team, the women finished sixth at the UAA championships and fourth at the state meet.


Men’s soccer: Rochester received an at-large bid to the NCAA Division III playoffs, marking the team’s seventh invitation in the last eight years. In the first round, Rochester defeated Misericordia University in a shootout after a 1–1 tie, thanks to a dramatic tying goal by Alex Swanger ’15 in the 86th minute to force overtime. The Yellowjackets lost in the second round to 15th-ranked Susquehanna University, 1–0. Seven players earned All–UAA honors, including Max Eberhardt ’13 as a first team selection. Eberhardt and Jakob Seidlitz ’13 earned first team All-Region honors from the NSCAA. Rochester finished with a 10–4–4 record, 3–1–3 in the UAA, a conference that had five teams invited to the NCAAs. The team was ranked 20th in the final NSCAA poll.

Women’s soccer: Bridget Lang ’13 was a runaway choice as the UAA first-team goalkeeper. She posted a 1.37 goals-against average and played in 15 one-goal decisions. She was named second team All-Region by the NSCAA. Rochester was 3–13–1 against the third-toughest schedule in Division III.

Football: Quarterback Dean Kennedy ’14 passed for a single-season record 2,028 yards and completed 15 TD passes in a 4–5 season. Rochester finished 3–4 in the Liberty League with wins over St. Lawrence, Merchant Marine, and WPI. Six players were named All-Liberty League: defensive back Kobie Hamm ’13, tight end Ken Apostolakos ’14, and linebacker Tony Ortega ’14 were first team honorees.

Men’s cross country: The Yellowjackets broke into the Division III poll early and finished the season with an at-large invitation to the NCAA championships as a team, finishing 21st out of 32 teams. The team was fourth at the NCAA Atlantic Regional, sixth at UAAs, and won the New York State conference championship. Three men finished in the top 10 at states: John Bernstein ’14 (fourth), Adam Pacheck ’14 (seventh), and Dan Hamilton ’13 (eighth).

Women’s volleyball: With a 22–12 record, Rochester posted its most successful season since the 2006 campaign (23–13). The Yellowjackets finished sixth at the UAA championships. Three players earned All–UAA honors: Alma Guevara ’13 on the second team, while Kelly Mulrey ’13 and Savannah Benton ’14 were honorable mention.


Men’s basketball: As the end of the year approached, Rochester sported a 10–0 record and was ranked eighth nationally. The Yellowjackets won three tournaments in the Palestra, including the Wendy’s Classic. Rochester defeated Hobart for the Wendy’s title, then beat the Statesmen again a week later in a regular season game.

Women’s basketball: Coach Jim Scheible became the winningest coach in the program’s history, posting his 259th win early in the Wendy’s Classic, which the Yellowjackets won for the eighth straight year (see page 10). Squash: The Yellowjackets repeated as Liberty League champions and was ranked fifth nationally. At the semester break, the team’s record was 5–2.

Men’s and women’s indoor track: Three Yellowjackets and a relay team qualified for March’s ECAC championships: Emily VanDenburgh ’16 in the long jump, Carina Luck ’13 in the triple jump, Yuji Wakimoto ’14 in the 3,000-meter run, and the 4-by-200-meter team of Gene O’Hanlon ’14, Jonathan Kuberka ’16, Jeffrey Hrebenach ’16, and Boubacar Diallo ’16.