Department of English



Minors are offered in English Literature, in Writing (with two separate tracks: Creative Writing or Journalism), and in Theater. The minors in writing and theater emphasize the practical aspects of the discipline and are open to English majors as well as non-majors.

All four minors stipulate a minimum of six courses, five of which must be taken in residence. No more than two courses in one's major may be counted toward the minor. Students wishing to minor in English should contact the Director of Undergraduate Studies.